The refurbished Chapel showing the mural of the Nativity to the right of the Altar. The mural of St Luke is out of shot to the photographer’s right.
RIGHT: A view from the Altar showing the murals of the Ascension, Crucifixion and The Last Supper. The front door to the chapel was below and to the left of the Last Supper.
Below is a photograph of the Changi Lamp which stands in front of the cross on the altar. The lamp was carved by members of the Saint Luke’s Chapel group of TOC H, which was led by Padre Chambers. The Chapel group of TOC H was one of several groups in the Changi POW area. The design of the lamp closely follows that of the TOC H Lamp, the symbol of the movement. The Changi Lamp had been taken to the UK in 1968 where it rested at Padre Chambers’ church in Southampton, Hampshire. It was returned to Saint Luke’s Chapel in May 1988, as it was felt that the Chapel was its rightful home.
Beside the lamp there is a card with an inscription.
DEDICATED TO THE MEMORY OF THE REV. G.J. CHAMBERS
(TOC H STAFF PADRE MARK 5 AND SOUTHERN AREA
UP TO 1940) AND THE MANY WHO FORMED A UNIQUE
BRANCH OF TOC H IN SINGAPORE GAOL P.O.WS. CAMP
IN JAPANESE HANDS 1942-45.
INSTALLED IN THE CHAPEL OF MARK V OCTOBER 28th 1968
IN THE PRESENCE OF THE FOUNDER PADRE AND THE
BISHOP OF SOUTHAMPTON.
WE WILL REMEMBER THEM
The TOC H organisation was started during World War One by a British Army Padre, Philip Thomas Byard Clayton, who was better known as ‘Tubby’. In 1915 at Poperinge in Flanders, Belgium, he opened Talbot House, a place of rest and tranquility for war-weary soldiers of all ranks. Talbot House soon became known as TOC H, an army signaller’s code for the letters TH. TOC H is now a respected international organisation.